Home Repairs

They come,
Seeking answers
To scratch paper sketches;
Porches, playrooms
Pantries and problems;
Resultant conundrums of a material world.

Expecting-
High pressure tactics,
Pushy sales person
Running up tickets,
And, of course, technical expertise.

What they don’t expect,
Is a Home Depot holy man.
An orange apron-ed mystic,
Offering solutions to drywall dilemmas.

Who studies the cracks in foundations,
Listens to camouflage
overlying faint cries of despair.

And hears-

How do I build a stairway of sincerity?
Tall as a tower, shining steps rising
Above the crippling contrariness of my life?

What manner of steel is so stain-less,
To weather the corrosion of my debaucheries,
To anchor my heals in righteous construction,
So Heaven someday may be within reach?

What padding can be so resilient,
To keep disappointment from scorching my ass,
Dragged through the coals of work-a-day world?
Flat on my bum, one foot entangled,
Eternally caught in the crux
Of life’s bottom rung?

And

Where do I find the cheapest fix,
To patch this hole in my heart,
Out through which my humanity bleeds?

Welcome to the Depot, he replies.
Mirrors, aisle seven.

Poetry by SS Matthews

18 thoughts on “Home Repairs

  1. Scott, a stunning write. I didn’t expect it to take the turn it did. Truly magnificent the way you worked the words…. We are all seeking answers, aren’t we? And they always seem to come at a price. If only we could find what we needed in aisle seven!

  2. nice…love it when they are so helpful…i always hope to meet on of those show people that will just come do it for me you know…smiles…nice metaphor in this as well…if all lifes questions were so easy eh?

  3. OMG!!!!!!!!!! This is freaking fantastic! “How do I build a stairway of sincerity?” and “the cheapest fix to patch this hole in my heart” – and then the mirror. Best thing I’ve read today and I have read a LOT of great poems today!!!!!! LOVED. IT.

  4. This is so thoughtfully put that whatever I say is not going to do any justice to the poem. I enjoyed each word. Particularly:

    “Where do I find the cheapest fix,
    To patch this hole in my heart,
    Out through which my humanity bleeds?

    Welcome to the Depot, he replies.
    Mirrors, aisle seven.”

    Ha, delightful.:)

  5. great write indeed. i can but echo the comments of the above (esp. Sherry!) I’m particularly taken with the last couple of stanzas. Great feel to them. Good work indeed!

  6. Awesome write, with more than a few grains of truth about the human condition, the human propensity to seek answers outside ourselves. Mirrors in aisle 7, I’ll go have a look… 😉

Leave a comment