Barefoot Poetry

SS Matthews

That Which Remains

1 Comment

I told you from the beginning,
you would only have to tell me,
tell me once-
to go-

and perhaps it was, as you said-
only sex
and nothing more.

Kisses, deep in hunger, lasting minutes,
tasting of hours.
Sharing sensual intimacy- vulnerable
in the darkness of our desires-
The flavor of passion captured
between frenzied lips- searching for that perfect instant
when needs would not be denied, and I would- carry you
to that plateau of incessant writhing- which demands,
then explodes, as light given sudden unto darkness,
inside you- blindingly, where nothing is withheld
and aftermath is breathlessness.

All this; to hold one another without fear, without feign.
You can say it was only sex-
that you did not- love me-
that you do not now
and you are happy.

Say this; and no longer
will I challenge you to feel the truth inside.

Say it loud- Loud enough for both our hearts to hear
and I will let you go.

Or tell me, tell me once-
to stay.

SS Matthews 2008

Author: SSMatthews

Author of The Moon and Rowan Wolfe and Wolfe's Banes.

One thought on “That Which Remains

  1. This is so intense and so extremely passionate I love it!

    I wanted to let you know I have started a prompt site
    http://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/

    I host my normal Sunday challenge, a wordle on Monday, and a photo prompt on Tuesday, Anmol does a haiku/tanka prompt, Oloriel does a short story prompt, Anja a fairytale prompt, and Bastet Shadorma

Leave a Reply

