Barefoot Poetry

SS Matthews

The Collector

8 Comments

Audio Version- Experimenting with Soundcloud

The Collector

This street is strewn with broken things,
dreams die in the first few steps, it seems.
Graffiti, pronouncing God’s demise, decorates the odd high-rise.

I love the city, with its unpredictability.
Its rows of tarnished faces watching passers-by for traces
of weakness which might glare. I just stare
right back and sigh into their bloodshot eyes.
I’m not here to head their cries.
I shun the stab of cold outside and wrap my cloak more tightly.

No angel, I, you may have guessed,
I walk this street at Death’s behest,
I pick and choose, I pre-select the fuel to feed His fury.

Gothic children sob and sing, courting Poe,
his ‘Raven’s’ wing a marvel of demented mind.
(I must confess, does charm the learned and lag alike,
when read aloud, when read at night.)

Though gladly would they pave my way,
it is not these I stalk this day.
Each must bide his time, her place,
and languish in a lesser grace.

Shattered bottles, plastic bags,
needles shared, ain’t life a drag.
Come inhale some ‘Satan’s’ Weed.
Your future? Well, it’s dark indeed.

Rings of smoke coil serpentine,
subtle fangs which pierce un-seen.
The poison works, igniting veins,
numbing minds, relieving pain
of promises all made in vain.

Care not for your ‘betters’ wastes,
for they have perspicacious tastes.
Like leaves which line the forest floor,
I tread their path, so cry no more.

For I will come this way again, in arrogance,
a death’s head grin engraves the unsuspecting.
For now I’ll call a name or two.
It’s cold so I’ll just take a few.

SS Matthew 2009

Author: SSMatthews

Author of The Moon and Rowan Wolfe and Wolfe's Banes.

8 thoughts on “The Collector

  1. Love is not strong enough this is absolutely fantastic really makes me think of Edgar Allen Poe Brilliant!

    • I really didn’t know how it was going to turn out until I published it and listened. Not bad, but I think I need more practice at speaking. When my children were small I used to read to them often and had much better control of inflection. I’ve lost much of that and need to practice, practice! Thanks for taking a listen!

  2. I still cant see anything, no links or the widget that would enable me to listen to it:( IS it happening to me only?

  3. I’m not sure what’s up with that Oloriel. It should appear as a small box with an orange button, little white arrow inside. It didn’t work on the 13th Floor, pretty sure that was due to the blog style. But the sound cloud is kind-a cool. You might give it a try.

Leave a Reply

