Barefoot Poetry

SS Matthews

Returning Persephone

8 Comments

the_return_of_persephone_by_corinazone

the_return_of_persephone_by_corinazone

The Pendulum swings in strokes of diminishing time.
Late is the hour
Much too late to strive to save this tortured mind.

Ravens, Black Cats, Coffin lids!
‘Tis Ligeia’s tomb! I’ve fallen in!

Springtime dreams of love so gay and bright
Must metamorphose
To Winter’s dreary cold and lonely bite.

And I, the nightmare roam the darkest hall
To the ticking-toc of the grandfather clock
Until I heed its midnight toll and call.

The eye of the beast has shone its reddest hate!
A burning bead of demonic delight.
Come to rend my soul for favors tendered late.

With the taste of your lips yet sweet upon mine,
Ne’er your trust I betray!
Though a thousand more may come to cleave and bind

My heart, my soul to Hell, his playful hounds of fire.
To twist in pain of flame and fang
I choose, to drink the devil’s bitter brew and yet desire,

Once more to feel the very touch of tender hands.
Forgo I the day, the night and lustful life
As payment for subverting Hades dark demand.

Into the meadow of sunlight my love, off now you must go.
Once mine, now yours
As the parchment signed for the bargain broke was written down below.

Poetry by SS Matthews

Author: SSMatthews

Author of The Moon and Rowan Wolfe and Wolfe's Banes.

8 thoughts on “Returning Persephone

  1. Masterfully done Scott I love mythology and your writing here is extremely elegant and enthralling

  2. Nicely done! I especially love “I choose, to drink the devil’s bitter brew”

  3. Tis brilliant – a wonderful read.
    Anna :o]

  4. excellent…we must always pay for selling our souls for pleasure…oh but what fun it was

Leave a Reply

