Barefoot Poetry

SS Matthews

Under Worked – Over Paid

6 Comments

Frog on Orange

Crick, crack, my aching back!
I’m ‘bout to have a heart attack!
Buried at the bottom of a laundry chute.
Ashes abound with chimney soot.

Got to sweep this floor to find
That last straw and peace of mind.
Sink of dishes mounding high
Is this the life? I ask you why?

Grass to mow and hedge to tame.
Porch to clean, man this is lame!
A little help, you know I’ll pay!
Neil Young was right, man needs a maid!

A tent and truck are all I need.
In the forest living free!
Like a frog on orange, hard to find,
Mayhap I’d even rise and shine.

Or build a cabin just in case,
Into my life rains fall and paste
This black cloud that circles round
To my head and wears me down.

Or a house to home my endless stuff,
You know too much is never enough.
There’s got to be some higher road
Where I can dump this heavy load.

If I could find that right-of-way,
I’d make that change right here today!
The whole world’s weight to cast-away
Along with every last cliché!

Poetry by SS Matthews

Author: SSMatthews

Author of The Moon and Rowan Wolfe and Wolfe's Banes.

6 thoughts on “Under Worked – Over Paid

  1. I really like the end it would be nice if we could just do away with the cliches and hell why we are at it, why not strip a lot of that artificial bs we pass off as meaningful interactions (I am really to dense for the games lol). This was a delight to read!

  2. I love this! Glad I stopped by! I am an avid Neil fan

  3. This is great! You managed so many cliches and with style!

  4. ha. there is def a higher road for those that look…and relief from the weight for sure…i agree with mlm…nice job on the cliches sir…

Leave a Reply

