Barefoot Poetry

SS Matthews

Napping the Discovery Channel

3 Comments

‘Lazy Boy’ heats, vibrates too
At the end of a busy day.
Lulled by both, I drift a-nap
The Discovery Channel way.

Where a weaver bird
In elaborate dance
Builds a hanging gourd-shaped home.
But I’ve seen this bird do this before,
Same result, same dance, same drone.

A million birds have felt this urge
And ritualized the actions.
I wonder if these birds can weave
A time and space contraction?

Collapsing cosmos is quite a trick
And would seem a strange solution;
To a bird’s nest conundrum connecting steps
Into an arrow flight evolution.

If persistent action amplifies
And extends through repetition;
Vibrations attract harmonically
Can they solidify location?

My mind slips into delta,
Where I sew a vibrant line;
A weaver knotting a nested muse
With a harmonic stitch in time.

Poetry by SS Matthews

Author: SSMatthews

Author of The Moon and Rowan Wolfe and Wolfe's Banes.

3 thoughts on “Napping the Discovery Channel

  1. I watch a lot of discovery and this is really good. A real fun read.

  2. Oh how I like how you have weaved this poem about how birds have done this dance for thousands of years and will probably continue another thousand years. I too can fall asleep so easily with the TV playing something. The sound does not seem to bother me at all but what is funny is that if someone turns it off then I wake up almost immediately wanting to know what is wrong. I used to be such a light sleeper and now I could probably sleep through a storm.

    Thanks for sharing such a wonderful poem with us for this weeks Theme Thursday. May your weekend be blessed with wonderful naps and lot of birds singing their songs.

    God bless.

Leave a Reply

